The Slate of Our Lives…

cf781d3feb4352893f5c948b8e262d6f

Every situation we experience in life writes on the slate of who we are. Celebrations, tragedies, milestones, marriages, divorces and death all shape and mold the people we become. Each instance, good or bad, carves out a place on  that slate I mentioned. The slate of our life. Think of it as a coat of armor that’s inside of you. just under the skin. A sort of invisible shield.

My parents divorced when I was a baby and I don’t ever remember my Father being part of my life.  I do recall once when I was about thirteen, my dad called my Mom and asked if I would be interested in going to a family reunion with him. I flat out refused. There was no way I was going to spend my Saturday with a man who had never paid child support or even acknowledged my existence. (or so I thought) Anyway, my Mom talked me into it, I finally agreed to go and he said he’d pick me up at nine the next morning…He never showed up. No phone call, nothing.

It wasn’t until years later that I learned my Dad had his own demons. He was an alcoholic and drug abuser who allowed his addictions to dictate his life. I know his actions as a father affected me but in what way? Are his actions the reason I’m such an overprotective and ever present parent? Was his absence partly responsible for me allowing myself to remain in an unhappy marriage for twenty plus years?

I have other sporadic memories of my Dad that I won’t go into today because that’s not the purpose of this post. My point here is, his actions wrote on the slate of my life. The fact that my grandparents helped my Mom raise me left a huge mark on my slate. My granddad was essentially the only “Dad” I really knew and my fondest memories are ones spent with them.

As I sit here today and think of how we all become who we are because of circumstances and life experiences, I can’t help but think of my daughter’s slate. Have I been a good enough Mother and helped prepare her enough for the real word so much so that the “writings” I’ve created on her slate are positive? Will my decisions leave favorable writings? What ways have I negatively affected her and how will it influence her in the future?

We all have a slate that began recording our experiences the day we were born. They help design our character and define who we are. They help determine where we go in life and who we become.

What’s on your slate?

Until Next time…Trulyhers

 

This entry was posted in life, slate of life, Unconditional love, lesbian relationship, family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

