The Rose…

                         

Rose-close-up

             The Rose by Bette Midler

Some say love, it is a river that drowns the tender reed

Some say love, it is a razor that leaves your soul to bleed

Some say love, it is a hunger an endless aching need

I say love, it is a flower and you, it’s only seed

It’s the heart, afraid of breaking that never learns to dance

It’s the dream, afraid of waking that never takes the chance

It’s the one who won’t be taken who cannot seem to give

And the soul, afraid of dying that never learns to live

When the night has been too lonely and the road has been too long

Just remember in the winter far beneath the bitter snow

Lies the seed that with the sun’s love, in the spring becomes the rose

This is one of my all time favorite songs. I’ve loved it since I was a child, which is really odd considering it’s such a deep and meaningful song. What in the world attracted me to it at such a young age? What’s really ironic is that my life would go on to be lived by the lyrics of this song.

379169_MVaitLFT_c

Love can be all of those things…A river or a razor that can drown you and cut you deeply…A hunger, something we all starve for…And finally it can be a beautiful flower, the seed being found in our soulmate.

My heart never learned to dance. It was stifled by my upbringing and life choices. The dream I had of a happy life yet I never had the courage to take the chance to live it. My soul afraid of dying that never learned to live…Fear has ruled most of my teenage and adult life.

When you are finally tired and weary from that long and lonely road, thinking you’ll never be lucky enough to experience life at it’s fullest because you’ve buried it for so long…There’s hope…That small seed that was planted so long ago now has hope of blooming.

inspirational-pictures-Seeds-of-Love

 

T is my sun…Thanks to her for breaking through the clouds and shining on our seed. I love you.
Trulyhers

This entry was posted in BDSM, being alive, grateful, hope, life, Love, relationships, thankful, The rose. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

