A Word About Compassion…

83e4fc6d62c21ac2e9977399a0df98a2

If we were all a little less judgmental the world would be a more accepting and joyful place. I honestly used to be horrible at judging people. I’d judge them on their clothes, their hair, their home…It was bad.

Luckily with age comes wisdom. I’m now forty four and am proud to say I’m more accepting of people.

When I see someone struggling I reach out to help. If I see someone who appears to be down on his luck I don’t automatically think “What a loser”…Instead, my thoughts are more along the lines of “What has that person been through in life? What roads has he travelled and how did he get to where he is today?”

We make be quick to judge why a woman would sell her body for money, rather than wondering if she has hungry children at home and would do anything to put food in their mouths. Or how we’re so quick to judge people begging for money. Yes, I admit there are plenty who aren’t homeless and pretend to be, but imagine for just one moment that the person holding the homeless sign is in fact homeless. Suppose he has a family at home…hungry children, a pregnant wife perhaps? Stop for one moment and think. 

homeless-man

I agree he could try to find honest work, but my point here is compassion. If each one of us had just an ounce more compassion within us the world would be a more loving place.

People generally are a product of their environment, however I also believe we can rise above that and become whatever we want to be. Life is what you make it so to speak…I get that. But I for one am proud to say that I’m more compassionate towards others than I used to be. We never know what roads people have travelled, what trials they’ve experienced to get to where they are today.

If this post can change the way one person looks at another, my time hasn’t been wasted today.

Until next time,

Trulyhers

This entry was posted in BDSM, compassion, darkness, despair, grateful, hope, life, Love. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

